What’s going on with YOUR Whole 60?

6 Mar

So we’ve passed the 30 day marker!  How many of you are staying on for the Whole 60?  I know that Kendra and myself are going strong, as well as some of you.  Who else is on board?  We need to hear from you.  As a little kick-start, I wanted to post a photo of what I have been up to lately in the kitchen.  

As some of you may know already, I’m kind of a kitchen geek, always trying out different things, tinkering with recipes, and trying to expand my boundaries.  Most recently, this has meant canning and fermenting.  While I have made kimchi and sauerkraut in the past, my most recent obsession has been kombucha.  In essence, it is a slightly effervescent, slightly bitter fermented tea beverage with a multitude of purported health benefits.  Anyways, check out the picture of the tasty fermented and canned foods that I have made recently.

Image

Delicious canned and fermented foods: Brewed black tea kombucha, habanero salsa (top), preserved lemons (bottom), fermenting ginger tea kombucha, pickled beets, canned roasted red and yellow peppers

What have you been up to in the kitchen lately?  Let us know any new discoveries you have made or challenges you have been having.

8 Responses to “What’s going on with YOUR Whole 60?”

  1. Debbie March 7, 2013 at 8:34 am #

    On the mornings when I just don’t want to cook or need something besides eggs, I have been making smoothies. But instead of yoghurt, juice, coconut milk or almond milk, I started using fresh brewed and chilled green tea as my liquid. Today I added 1/2 a frozen banana, 1/2 apple, kale, spinach and carrots with a 1/4 cup of frozen berries (just to brighten it up otherwise the color is not so appetizing). No protein yet, but will amp it up for my morning snack or lunch. Thinking leftover NY Strip might do the trick

    • matt4fit March 7, 2013 at 8:39 pm #

      How about some grilled sausages to go along with the smoothie? If cooked ahead of time, they can even be eaten cold.

  2. sws March 8, 2013 at 9:10 pm #

    Matt — I decided I’m a “30” but not a “60.” The experience was valuable. I don’t think it revealed any major allergies or inflammation issues. I was pleased to break myself of a Diet Coke habit, and to realize that I really don’t need bread or dairy in my diet, and do like eating lots of vegies and some animal proteins, all good things. On the down side, I had very reduced energy levels. All month I was incredibly thirsty, and hope that I’ve now locked in a new “water habit.” Good luck to all the ongoing “60s” — may you prosper! sws

    • matt4fit March 10, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

      SWS, that’s great that you got off of diet coke! The reduced energy levels are pretty common, and usually due to not getting enough food, and/or decreasing the amount of carbohydrate you are taking in. It usually takes 3-4 weeks for the body to get used to consuming dramatically fewer carbohydrates. After that point though, energy usually rebounds to better than baseline.
      Way to go SWS!

  3. Deanna W. March 8, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

    I’ve been struggling with staying motivated this week so I decided to try on my pre pregnancy jeans and they almost fit! I think I found something to help motivate me for the next couple of weeks 🙂

    • matt4fit March 26, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

      Deanna that’s great news! Keep up the good work! Almost done.

  4. RedDeb March 8, 2013 at 11:08 pm #

    This has been a great experience, Matt and Kendra. I am reintroducing foods and keeping track of my body’s reactions. I am definitely hooked because I now get a tummy ache when I break the Whole 30 as opposed to the beginning of being ON the Whole 30.

    Question – is there a good substitute for the shredded coconut and coconut milk in many of the recipes? I do believe that I am getting a low grade rash when I eat or drink coconut.

    • matt4fit March 12, 2013 at 3:37 pm #

      That’s great that you can feel the difference RedDeb! Make sure that you don’t try to “chase” that old feeling that those foods gave you by continuing to “try them”.
      That’s a bummer about the coconut. Firstly, check the ingredients list to make sure that it is ONLY coconut included. After that, there are a couple substitutes.
      Shredded coconut: for cooking purposes, you can often use almond meal/flour instead.
      Coconut milk: try coconut cream (more of the coconut fat, and less of the coconut water. You can also try making nut milks – almond, hazelnut, etc. I hope that helps.

Leave a Reply

