Day One

12 Jan

Observation: I ate more today than I have eaten any day in recent history. My explanation is one I use when explaining why weight loss diets have variable success – you spend all your time thinking about food. In this case, I think it was a healthy process as I planned ahead and had plenty of healthy options on hand.

My day:

breakfast: 2 hard boiled eggs, a satsuma orange and an apple

midmorning: almonds, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds w/a bit of dried fruit

late morning: blueberries

lunch: grilled salmon with steamed broccoli

Dinner: grilled chicken breast; chard saute; cauliflower mash

after dinner: satsuma

Also consumed 36 oz of water which is about 32 oz more than my norm.

Workout: today’s crossfit – no difference in energy, nor performance

2 Responses to “Day One”

  1. buddiesinaction January 12, 2010 at 11:57 pm #

    Tracey,
    I went through the same exact thing when I first started trying to figure out my food sensitivities. I first started with an elimination diet and then the Paleo Diet. I had never been on a ‘strict diet’ before and found that, initially, all I could think about was what I could/couldn’t eat. It was a great experience for me because I feel like I have a better grasp on what clients and others who are “dieting” struggle with (and why strict ‘diets’ often fail).

    For now, don’t worry about it and just focus on the quality of what you’re eating, not the quantity. In a few weeks, when you are more comfortable with what you are eating, then start tuning in to your body and needs (ie. being able to identify true hunger and satiety).

    Good luck to you and Jimmy!

  2. Thom January 13, 2010 at 5:24 am #

    Yes! begin to identify ’emotional’ hunger vs ‘physical’ hunger.

Leave a Reply

